No Sitting on the Sidelines

This letter I received from our outgoing President reminds me that love takes work. Too often I vote and then whether I like or dislike the outcome, forget that this country is a collective responsibility. When we are in relationships, have families, and adopt pets, those loves are made deeper by the messy, day-to-day, fun and real process of growing together. What about love of country?

President Obama reminds me that the health of this country is determined by the participation of individuals. If I’m worried about the direction of the country, it seems to me that the real antidote is to find a way to grow a healthier community.  We all can make a difference, right?

Leave a Reply

